Text Options for the Visually Impaired Font Size: a- A+ Color: A A A Revert 
Close vision bar
Open vision bar

College Planning Resources

 General College Application Resources, Tutorials, Applications, General Information

  • University and College Accountability Network at www.ucan-network.org – college choices - Explore hundreds of private nonprofit colleges and universities. 
  • College Results Online at www.collegeresults.org - College Results Online (CRO) is an interactive, user-friendly Web tool designed to provide policymakers, counselors, parents, students, and others with information about college graduation rates for nearly any four-year college or university in the country.
  •  College Prowler at www.collegeprowler.com – online community where students can chat online and discuss concerns regarding applying to college.  Information is also available on scholarships and institutions.
  • knowhow2go at www.knowhow2go.org - the KnowHow2GO campaign is a multiyear, multimedia effort includes television, radio and outdoor public service advertisements (PSAs) that encourage 8th through 10th graders to prepare for college using four simple steps. 
  • National Association for College Admission Counseling at http://www.nacacnet.org/studentinfo – Student and Parent resources for applying to college – dichotomized by high school grade level, including summer transitioning.
  • The Common Application at www.commonapp.org -  the Common Application currently provides both online and print versions of its First-year and Transfer Applications -  membership of more than 400 institutions.
  • College Fairs Online at www.collegeweeklive.com – Live chat with over 300 college admission reps from institutions across the country. Live streaming video presentations – Virtual College Fairs
  • Campus Tours at www.campustours.com - CampusTours builds video tours, photorealistic interactive campus maps, mobile walking tours and custom data-driven multimedia applications for higher education, non-profit and government clients worldwide. 
  • Howtogeitin at http://www.howtogetin.com/ - database of college admission stats for over 6,000 U.S. colleges and universities, we have detailed help sections and a network of sites that can help guide you through preparing for college, applying to college, and paying for college.
  • The Campus Safety and Security Data Analysis Cutting Tool at http://ope.ed.gov/security/ - The Campus Safety and Security Data Analysis Cutting Tool is brought to you by the Office of Postsecondary Education of the U.S. Department of Education. This analysis cutting tool was designed to provide rapid customized reports for public inquiries relating to campus crime and fire data. 

 Videos

 

Books

  • College Unranked: Ending the College Admissions Frenzy, Lloyd Thacker
  • The Gatekeepers, Jacques Steinberg
  • Harvard Schmarvard, Jay Matthews
  • I’m Going to College — Not You! Jennifer Delahunty, editor
  • Going Geek: What Every Smart Kid (and Every Smart Parent) Should Know About College Admissions, John Carpenter

 

Free Practice Tests and Test Preparation Websites

ACT Sample Test at www.actstudent.org/sampletest/index.html

Number2 at www.number2.com

SAT College Board Practice Test at www.sat.collegeboard.org/practice

Spark Notes SAT Practice Test at http://www.sparknotes.com/testprep/

Gacollege411 Test Prep at https://secure.gacollege411.org/College_Planning/_default.aspx