Text Options for the Visually Impaired Font Size: a- A+ Color: A A A Revert 
Close vision bar
Open vision bar

TCMS Science Fair Winners

TCMS Science Fair Winners

The Thomas County Middle School Science Fair was held on December 9. More than 200 projects were entered by 6th, 7th, and 8th grade students. Winners will compete in the Region Science Fair at ABAC on February 12. The following students earned awards:

In Chemistry, Meg Harnevious and Danielle Sauls earned honorable mentions. Sydnie Shelton earned third place. Sarah Carnes won second place and Emma Goff placed first. Emma Goff also won the Overall Physical Science Division Award.

In Physics/Astronomy, William McCorkle received an Honorable Mention.  Eden Jones placed third. Claire Pope earned second place and Joshua Glass won first place.

In Engineering, Benjamin Castillo and Kaleb Ward received Honorable Mention. Joshua Stephens earned third place. Jackson Singletary won second place and Devon Green won first place.

In Math/Computers, Kaleb Smith won second place and Col Rewis won first place.

In Animal Science, Holly Green earned third place honors. Second place went to Taylor Stegall and first place went to Bailey Allen.

In Plant Science, Chandler Craven and Devin Vines earned Honorable Mentions. Third place went to TJ Saunders. Leara Jones earned second place while first place went to Ethan Nicoll.  Ethan Nicoll also won the Overall Life Science Division Award.

In Environmental Science, third place went to Joshua Sharpe. Bradley Dechman placed second and Laura Hiers won first. 

In Medicine and Health, third place went to Reagan Siddell. Ayden Harrison won second place and Langley Wooten placed first.

In Microbiology, Taylor Willoughby won second place while Bryan Williams earned first place.

In Behavioral & Social Science, Matt Sherrod earned third place and Breanna Woods placed second. The first place winner for the category was Emily Johnson.

The Overall TCMS Science Fair winner earns the Jackie Winchester Award. This award, donated by Sunnie Wynn, honors the late Mrs. Jackie Winchester who taught for over 40 years and was a great advocate of the Science Fair. This year’s winner of the Jackie Winchester Award was Ethan Nicoll.

Back to School News      Print News Article