Text Options for the Visually Impaired Font Size: a- A+ Color: A A A Revert 
Close vision bar
Open vision bar

TCMS Science Fair Winners

Science Fair

The Thomas County Middle School Science Fair was held on December 6. More than 70 projects were entered by 6th, 7th, and 8th grade students. Winners will compete in the Region Science Fair at ABAC on February 16. The following students earned awards:

In Chemistry, Amber Griner earned honorable mention. Mikayla Voyles earned third place. Riley Fisher won second place and Cameron Jones placed first.

In Physics/Astronomy, Evan Kelly received an Honorable Mention.  Garrett Landing placed third. Keaton Stephens earned second place and Emily Hobbs won first place.

Emily Hobbs also won the Overall Physical Science Division Award.

In Engineering, Phoebe Esra won second place and Jackson Emmett won first place.

In Math, Gavin Coffee won first place.

In Embedded Systems, Whitt Finch received an Honorable Mention.  Ayden Webb placed third.  Kariana Colon won second place, and Garrett Mims placed first.

In Animal Science, Morgan Loper earned third place honors. Second place went to Brady Whatley and first place went to Jordan Bass.

In Plant Science, Carina Johnson earned Honorable Mention. Third place went to Donald Davis. Caden Reagan earned second place while first place went to Taylor Stegall.  

In Environmental Science, Laura Hiers received an Honorable Mention.  Third place went to Luke Pierce. Brayden Vickers placed second and Karsyn Bush won first.

In Biomedical and Health Sciences, Julia Horne received an Honorable Mention.  Third place went to Haydn Dzurick. Katelyn Stewart won second place and Georgia Rose Patton placed first.

In Microbiology, Gavin Melnick placed third, Caleb Kineer won second place, and Bishop Jackson earned first place.

In Behavioral & Social Science, Sarah Edgerton received an Honorable Mention.  Kaylee Barrett earned third place and Campbell Smith placed second. The first place winner for the category was Molly Grace White.  

Molly Grace White also won the Overall Life Science Division Award.

The Overall TCMS Science Fair winner earns the Jackie Winchester Award. This award, donated by Sunnie Wynn, honors the late Mrs. Jackie Winchester who taught for over 40 years and was a great advocate of the Science Fair. This year’s winner of the Jackie Winchester Award was Molly Grace White.

Pictured below on the left is all winners.  Pictured on the right is the overall winner, Molly Grace White.

Science Fair 2017     Molly Grace

To view all pictures from the Science Fair, please click the following link:

Science Fair Pictures 2017-18

Back to School News      Print News Article