NHD Logo

Students from Thomas County Middle School have been working diligently throughout the school year to complete National History Day projects.  The theme for this year was "Breaking Barriers in History". “National History Day is a year-long academic program focused on historical research, interpretation and creative expression for 6th- to 12th-grade students. By participating in NHD, students become writers, filmmakers, web designers, playwrights, and artists as they create unique contemporary expressions of history,” explains the National History Day website (www.nhd.org).

Students compete in various categories including documentaries, exhibits, historical papers, performances, and websites.  Students listed below placed in the competition and will move on to the state competition held at LaGrange College on Saturday, April 18, 2020.


Junior Division NHD Winners 2020

Individual Documentary -

Winner - Braxton White


Historical Papers -

Winner - Cayden Gasque


Individual Performance -

Winner - Ransom Young

2nd - Grayson Jones


Group Exhibit -

Winners -  Kinsley Rhodes / Natalie Carlisle 

2nd - Ella Briscoe / Laney Woodfin 

3rd - Owen Petrey / Wyatt Petrey

HM - Haydn Dzurick / Kristopher Wilhelm

HM - Emily Wilson / Lola Parker


Individual Exhibit -

Winners - Libby Stewart

2nd - Payton West

3rd - Ansley Marsh

HM - DeAndria Daniels

HM - Bowen Dennard


Individual Websites -

Winner - Spencer Webb

2nd - Roan Adams


Special Awards given in honor of:

African American History - DeAndria Daniels - Presented by Jack Hadley’s Black History Museum

Women’s History - Ella Briscoe & Lainey Woodfin - Presented by Thomasville Junior Service League

Agricultural Award - Dru Jones & Drew Jones - Presented by Eddie Simmons & Thomas County Farm Bureau (exhibit is on display at their office)

Overall Winner sponsored by Thomasville Historical Society  - Spencer Webb

Pictured below are students who are moving on to the state competition on April 18th at  LaGrange College, along with Mandy West, TCMS National History Day Coordinator.  On the top row from left to right are:  Mandy West, DeAndria Daniels, Kinsley Rhodes, Lola Parker, Payton West, Kristopher Wilhelm, Haydn Dzurick, Braxton White, Wyatt Petrey, Grayson Jones, Ransom Young, and Cayden Gasque.  On the front row from left to right is Ansley Marsh, Roan Adams, Emily Wilson, Libby Stewart, Laney Woodfin, Ella Briscoe, Bowen Dennard, Owen Petrey, and Natalie Carlisle. In the front is overall winner, Spencer Webb.

NHD Region Winners

In the second image are students who received special awards given during the National History Day awards ceremony from left to right is Braxton White, Cayden Gasque, Ransom Young, Grayson Jones, Spencer Webb, and Roan Adams.

NHD Special Awards


Back to School News      Print News Article