## Thomas County Board of Education Minutes 10/20/2015, 7:00 PM

200 N. Pinetree Blvd. Thomasville, GA 31792

## Attendees - voting members

Mr. Charles Evans
Mr. Mark NeSmith
Mr. David Dawson
Mr. Derwood Hickey
Ms. Nancy Hiers
Mr. Scott Morgan
Mrs. Kay P. Streets

Chair
Vice Chair
Board Member
Board Member
Board Member
Board Member
Board Member

Attendees - other

Dr. George H. Kornegay Superintendent

Mrs. Melanie Chavaux Associate Superintendent Mrs. Carol Gerald Administrative Assistant

Mr. Joey Holland Assistant Superintendent for Finance & Operations

Mrs. Lisa Williams Assistant Superintendent for Planning, Policy, & Student Services

I. Call to Order

Chairman Evans called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. with all members present except Mark Nesmith, who arrived at the meeting at 7:20.

- II. Devotional Alfred Carver, paraprofessional at Thomas County Middle School
- III. Approval of consent agenda (attachment A)
  - A. Agenda
  - B. Minutes: September 8, 2015, and September 22, 2015
  - C. Bishop Hall Board minutes: August 20, 2015
  - D. Upcoming meetings: November 10 regular meeting
  - E. Paper bid
  - F. Fundraising requests
  - G. HB 91 graduates
  - H. Out-of-district students

Motion made by: Mr. Scott Morgan Motion seconded by: Ms. Nancy Hiers

Voting:

Mr. Charles Evans - Yes

Mr. Mark NeSmith - No Vote

Mr. David Dawson - Yes

Mr. Derwood Hickey - Yes

Ms. Nancy Hiers - Yes

Mr. Scott Morgan - Yes

Mrs. Kay P. Streets - Yes

## IV. Superintendent's Report

A. Recognition of outstanding students and employee

Hand-In-Hand was recognized for being named the Top Program of the Year and Susan Esra was recognized for being named Early Interventionist of the Year by Georgia Association on Young Children. Nevaeh Frazier, 2nd grade student at

Garrison-Pilcher, was at the meeting and received recognition for winning 2nd place in the "Plains, Peanuts and a President" postcard contest. Other students recognized for winning in "Plains, Peanuts and a President" were Savannah Rosales, first place in 10th grade division, and Jada Moore, second place in 9th grade division. Devin Vines, 7th grade, was recognized for winning 2nd place in the 2015 Georgia School Bus Safety State Poster Contest.

B. School funding presentations at fall superintendents' conference (attachment B)

Mark Nesmith arrived at the meeting at this time.

Dr. Kornegay outlined a proposal for a new state funding formula for education which a finance committee appointed by the governor had developed. The proposal is to completely eliminate QBE, which uses student segments that depend on the services the student is receiving, and use a more simplified funding formula, where funding would be based on student profiles. Dr. Kornegay explained that the proposed funding would work against the same level of state funding and at this point he was not sure how it would affect the school system. He said the new funding formula would have to be approved by the legislature.

He explained some of the Governor's finance committee's priorities and possible changes: increase in funding for the pre-k program; no salary increases for advanced degrees and advanced training; and discontinuing the statewide salary schedule for teachers and replacing it with district-wide salary schedules.

Dr. Kornegay gave board members state by state information (attachment) on gender gaps in high school sports.

- C. Draft of November 10 agenda (attachment C)
- D. Financial Report Joey Holland
- V. Work session to discuss E-SPLOST projects (attachment D)

Chairman Evans called on each board member to present the list of priorities for the designated school that they had worked with for the upcoming E-SPLOST.

- VI. New Business
  - A. Approval of bus purchase (attachment E)

Motion made by: Mr. Scott Morgan

Motion seconded by: Mr. Derwood Hickey

<u>Voting</u>: Unanimously Approved

B. Approval of personnel report (attachment F)

<u>Motion made by:</u> Mr. Scott Morgan <u>Motion seconded by:</u> Ms. Nancy Hiers

**Voting:** Unanimously Approved

VII. Adjournment

Motion made by: Mr. Scott Morgan Motion seconded by: Mr. Mark NeSmith

**Voting**: Unanimously Approved

Chairperson	9	Secretary